Le Flamboyant has chosen to offer an extensive English programme to its pupils at the rate of six hours per week so that the elementary classes have a weekly timetable of 26 hours instead of 24.

This choice reflects:

  • our desire to give priority to language learning from an early age
  • the fact that our host country, Cameroon, is a bilingual French-English country
  • English is the international language of communication

A playful approach to English is implemented in Petite and Moyenne Sections with 40 minutes per week of instruction. The volume of English lessons extends to 1h30 per week in Grande Section. From CP to CM2, a non-linguistic discipline (DNL) is integrated into the timetable so that each week, the children have 3 hours of English language lessons as well as 3 hours of a subject in English language (visual arts, sports or geometry).

The CM1 and CM2 classes are streamed into ability groups, allowing each pupil to progress at his or her own pace in the learning of the language. The class teachers are assisted by an English teacher and an English coordinator.

According to the Common European Framework of Reference (CEFR), the school aims to achieve an A1 level at the end of CM1 and A2 at the end of CM2. A test protocol for the A1 and A2 tests is in place for the CM1 and CM2 classes.

Find out more about the CEFR here.

Supporting Children with French Language Learning

The school is committed to supporting pupils whom their mother tongue is not French by implementing initiatives to ensure the rapid acquisition and use of the French language. French language learning is taught during the complementary educational activities (CPA) sessions on Tuesday and Thursday mornings and also supported by reducing the volume of English lessons and adjusting the timetable, if that better meets the needs of the pupil.

A non-French-speaking pupil is not considered as a pupil in difficulty; his abilities and achievements are equivalent to those of his other classmates. He/she should only master the French language quickly so that he/she can access all areas of the curriculum, ensuring progress and success.

Le Flamboyant a fait le choix d’offrir un enseignement d’anglais renforcé à ses élèves à raison de six heures par semaine si bien que les classes de primaire ont un horaire hebdomadaire de 26h au lieu de 24h.

Ce choix reflète :

  • notre volonté de privilégier l’apprentissage des langues dès le plus jeune âge
  • le fait que notre pays hôte, le Cameroun, soit un pays bilingue français-anglais
  • l’anglais est la langue internationale de la communication

Une approche ludique de l’anglais est mise en place dès la Petite et Moyenne Section de maternelle à raison de 40 minutes par semaine, en Grande Section le volume horaire d’anglais est de 1h30 par semaine.  À partir du CP et jusqu’au CM2, un enseignement en discipline non linguistique (DNL) est intégré dans l’emploi du temps. Par semaine, les enfants ont donc trois heures d’apprentissage de la langue anglaise et trois heures de cours en langue anglaise (arts plastiques, sport, ou géométrie).

Les effectifs des classes de CM1 et CM2 sont séparés en groupe de niveau permettant ainsi à chaque élève d’avancer à son rythme dans l’apprentissage de la langue. Les enseignants des classes sont secondés par un enseignant d’anglais ainsi que par une coordinatrice d’anglais.

Selon le Cadre Européen Commun de Référence (CECR), l’école vise un niveau A1 en fin de CM1 et A2 en fin de CM2. Un protocole de passation pour les tests A1 et A2 est mis en place pour les classes de CM1 et de CM2.

En savoir plus sur le CECR ici.

L’accueil des élèves allophones

L’école se fait forte d’accueillir les élèves allophones (qui parlent une autre langue que le français) à quelque degré que ce soit afin de leur permettre d’acquérir rapidement les bases du français langue de scolarisation. L’apprentissage du français se fait pendant les heures d’activités pédagogiques complémentaires (A.P.C) les mardis et jeudis matins mais aussi par une réduction du volume horaire en anglais ou ou encore des aménagements de service.

Un élève non francophone n’est pas considéré comme un élève en difficulté ; les capacités et les acquis sont équivalents à ceux de ses autres camarades. Il doit seulement maîtriser rapidement la langue française afin de lui permettre de réussir sa scolarité, poursuivre sa formation et construire son avenir.